Day 30: May Morning

The last day! I can’t believe the month flew by so quickly – it truly feels as if I was just starting on the seemingly daunting task of writing and posting a poem everyday. The prompts given were all different, many of them pushing me away from my comfort zone in poetry. I hope I can maintain writing and posting at least on a weekly basis, if not more after today.

The prompt for day 30 was to “find a shortish poem that you like, and rewrite each line, replacing each word (or as many words as you can) with words that mean the opposite”. The poem that I chose - “November Night” by Adelaide Crapsey is a beautiful poem with wonderful imagery, and is coincidentally a cinquain (day 5, anyone?). In fact, Crapsey was the one who created the modern form of the cinquain which is known as the American cinquain.

November Night

Listen.
With faint dry sound,
Like steps of passing ghosts,
The leaves, frost-crisp’d, break from the trees
And fall.

By: Adelaide Crapsey

My attempt at ‘rewriting it’– I wasn’t able to write the second line iambic feet as Crapsey did though the other four should be fine.

May Morning

Observe.
In near silence,
like breaths of sleeping bees,
the flow’rs, warm red, burst from the ground
and bloom.

About Suchita

I'm a Writing, Literature, and Publishing student at Emerson College. I love to read and write, especially poetry, and also have a love for music, food, and travel. View all posts by Suchita

3 responses to “Day 30: May Morning

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,093 other followers

