Day 17: Greetings

The prompt for day 17 was to write a poem of greeting.

Greetings

You approach so suddenly,
creeping up behind me,
your ever-present footsteps
no indication of the imminent
attack.
Looming over my shoulder,
you shadow stretches far
and wide, encompassing
everything-
every moment.
Our seemingly harmless
encounter leaves me
breathing heavy, heart
beating rapidly,
lips bitten red
from nerves.
The rising sun-
your accomplice-
arrives with much less grandeur
and surprise
but leaves me in pieces
nonetheless.
So,
Greetings, deadline.
There was no pleasure
in meeting you,
but I have no doubt
you will stumble
upon me
once again.

About Suchita

I'm a Writing, Literature, and Publishing student at Emerson College. I love to read and write, especially poetry, and also have a love for music, food, and travel. View all posts by Suchita

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,094 other followers

