Day 14: Power

Lord Voldemort

Lord Voldemort

The prompt for day 14 was to “write a persona poem — that is, a poem in the voice of a particular person who isn’t you”. The idea here was to choose a comic book (or comic book-like) character, so I went for a villain from a book, Voldemort from J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter series to be exact.

Power

Power-
the driving force
of the world-
the essence of
me.

Those inferior creatures
that plead at my feet,
every inch of their bodies
quivering, quaking
with terror,
are mere instruments-
steps to the ladder
that will simply give way
at the height of my climb.
No step is solid,
nor irreplaceable.
Though old doddering fools
with young lucky pawns
may deter my path
minutely,
there will be no stopping
my reign.

There is no other
who can stand atop
this ladder
of politics, wealth
and fear,
poised, dignified,
as if the universe revolved
around him;
after all, there is only
one center:
me.

I AM LORD VOLDEMORT

Note: “I am Lord Voldemort” – J.K Rowling, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets (pg. 231)

About Suchita

I'm a Writing, Literature, and Publishing student at Emerson College. I love to read and write, especially poetry, and also have a love for music, food, and travel. View all posts by Suchita

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,094 other followers

